Search Results for: election

By Manisha Sen On Monday, March 12th, 2018

FM Jaitley files nomination for Rajya Sabha elections in Lucknow

New Delhi: Finance Minister Arun Jaitley filed his nomination papers for the Biennial Elections for the 58 Rajya Sabha seats on Monday in Lucknow. FM Arun Jaitley filed nomination papers for Rajya Sabha elections More...

By Manish Sen On Tuesday, February 27th, 2018

Meghalaya Assembly election: 27.75% voter turnout recorded till 1 PM

CM Mukul Sangma casts his vote at polling booth number 25 in Chengkompara.Shillong: A voter turnout of 27.75% has been recorded in Meghalaya Assembly election till 1 PM. The voter turnout till 9 a.m. and 11 a.m. More...

By Ila Choudhary On Sunday, February 4th, 2018

Naba Kumar Nayak, new State Election Commissioner in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Former bureaucrat Naba Kumar Nayak has been appointed as the State Election Commissioner in Odisha, ahead of the urban local body elections later this year.Naba Kumar Nayak was today appointed as State More...

By Ila Choudhary On Tuesday, January 23rd, 2018

O P Rawat takes charge as Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi : Om Prakash Rawat took charge as the new Chief Election Commissioner of India in Delhi, on Tuesday. O P Rawat took charge today as Chief Election Commissioner. He replaced former CEC Achal Kumar Jyoti. Born More...

By Manish Sen On Monday, January 22nd, 2018

Achal Kumar Joti retires as Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Achal Kumar Joti today demitted the office of the Chief Election Commissioner after heading the poll body for six months. Chief Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Joti retired today. He came under attack More...

By Ila Choudhary On Sunday, January 21st, 2018

EC Om Prakash Rawat appointed new Chief Election Commissioner, Ashok Lavasa made EC

Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat was today appointed as Chief Election Commissioner. New Delhi: Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat was today appointed as the next chief election commissioner succeeding More...

By Ila Choudhary On Saturday, January 20th, 2018

Not afraid of elections, says AAP on MLAs disqualification row

New Delhi: The AAP today claimed to be “victimised” in the wake of the Election Commission’s recommendation to disqualify its 20 MLAs for holding offices of profit, and asserted that it was “not More...

By Ila Choudhary On Thursday, January 18th, 2018

Election Commission announces dates for Meghalaya, Tripura, Nagaland Assembly polls

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced the poll dates for the Legislative Assembly elections in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland. Chief Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti Polling More...

By Ila Choudhary On Wednesday, January 17th, 2018

Election commissioners’ salary set to see over two-fold hike

New Delhi: The salary of the three election commissioners is set to see an over two-fold hike in the coming weeks. The CEC Achal Kumar Joti is entitled to a salary which is equal to the salary of a judge of the More...

By Manish Sen On Saturday, December 30th, 2017

Assembly elections, GST, high-profile cases mark 2017

New Delhi: Assembly elections in seven states, the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST), election of Ram Nath Kovind as the President and deaths of hundreds of children in separate cases across the More...